Prescription peptides cost about 3 times the research-use price
HHS now lets US pharmacies make BPC-157 and five other peptides on prescription. We compared what clinics charge per mg with what research-use sellers charge. Per mg, the median prescription price was 2.1 to 4.3 times the research-use median, across four peptides.
Since the HHS policy of 30 October 2026, there are two ways to buy these peptides in the US. Research-use-only peptides are sold online as lab chemicals, not for people, with no prescription. Prescription peptides are made by a licensed pharmacy for one patient, after a doctor or clinic approves them. This report compares the two on price. No seller is named on this page.
The findings in brief
- 2.8×the middle of four peptidesPer mg, prescription costs 2.1 to 4.3 times the research-use median
- 2.9–8.6×a month of prescription BPC-157, against the same month for research useMonthly plans give the same answer: 2.9× to 8.6×
- $16.25median prescription BPC-157, per mgPrescription BPC-157 costs a median $16.25 per mg
- 9.4×from the cheapest clinic to the dearestPrescription BPC-157 ranges from $5.33 to $50.00 per mg
- $505the dearest first BPC-157 order, with feesWith fees, a first BPC-157 order costs $134 to $505
- 82 of 174clinics sell a product the policy does not allowPaying more does not mean the product is one the policy allows
Per mg, prescription costs 2.1 to 4.3 times the research-use median
Four peptides the policy allows by injection. Each bar is the median prescription price per mg, divided by the median price per mg across all US research-use sellers in our price index.
For BPC-157, the median prescription price was $16.25 per mg, from 6 clinics. The median across 202 research-use listings from 140 US sellers was $5.55. That is 2.9× as much.
MOTS-c had the biggest gap (4.3×). Epitalon had the smallest (2.1×). Across the four, the middle value is 2.8×.
Counting only sellers that score at least 25 of 60 with us and publish a certificate for that peptide gives almost the same multiples: 2.6 to 5.1 times.
Against the cheapest research-use price we could confirm on 1 November, prescription costs 6 to 15.1 times as much.
The higher price buys a product made by a state-licensed pharmacy for one patient, after a medical review. Research-use products are sold as lab chemicals. They are not made or checked for human use.
How we counted
Prescription price: for each clinic, the lowest price per mg it lists for a stated mg amount of one peptide, given by injection. Then the median across clinics.
Research-use price: the median price per mg in our US price index on 1 November 2026, with every US seller in it. Single-peptide vials of at least 1 mg, in stock, priced in dollars. We did not filter by score or by lab certificate.
2 clinics sell monthly plans that include the consult. We used the listed price. Without those plans, the prescription median is higher for all four peptides, so the gap would be bigger.
Our published October index (8 October 2026) gives almost the same multiples: 2.9×, 2.7×, 2.1×, 4× for BPC-157, TB-500, epitalon and MOTS-c.
Monthly plans give the same answer: 2.9× to 8.6×
BPC-157. The blue bar is the median price of a one-month prescription plan. Grey bars are what 15, 10 and 5 mg cost at the median research-use price per mg.
Many clinics sell BPC-157 as a monthly plan and do not say how many mg it holds. So we also compared a month with a month.
The median one-month plan costs $239. Clinics that state the amount give 5 to 15 mg a month. One publishes its plan: 500 mcg a day for four weeks, then 250 mcg a day.
At the research-use median, 15 mg costs $83.25 and 5 mg costs $27.75. So a prescription month costs 2.9× to 8.6× as much. The smaller the dose, the bigger the gap.
Some monthly prices include the consult, care or shipping. Research-use prices do not. So part of the gap pays for the medical side.
How we counted
Monthly plans: BPC-157 alone, with a price for one month on the clinic's page on 1 November 2026. "Starting at" and "from" prices are used as listed. Stacks, and programs or cycles with no stated length, are left out.
Research-use month: the mg amount times the median research-use price, $5.55 per mg. The 5 to 15 mg range comes from the clinics' own pages, not from us.
Prescription BPC-157 costs a median $16.25 per mg
Median price per mg for each peptide. Blue bars are prescription prices. Grey bars are the median across all US research-use sellers in our price index.
TB-500 costs a median $17.93 per mg on prescription, against $6.84 for research use. Epitalon costs $7.00 against $3.30. MOTS-c costs $17.00 against $4.00.
Two peptides are also sold as capsules. BPC-157 capsules cost a median $7.48 per mg (4 clinics). KPV capsules cost $7.20 (4 clinics). Our research-use prices are for vials only, so we do not compare capsules.
Semax is allowed only as a nasal spray. Only 1 clinic lists a Semax price per mg, and it does not say the route. KPV is allowed only as a cream or a pill. So we give no Semax or KPV injection figure.
How we counted
Monthly plans with no mg amount are compared separately, a month against a month (above). Packages, blends and prices with an unclear mg amount are left out. Each price is the one on the clinic's page on 1 November 2026.
The research-use median counts every US seller in our index, whatever its score. In brackets: the number of listings.
Prescription BPC-157 ranges from $5.33 to $50.00 per mg
BPC-157 by injection: each clinic's lowest price per mg, against the research-use median and the cheapest research-use price we could confirm.
Prescription prices vary a lot. For BPC-157, the dearest clinic charges 9.4× as much per mg as the cheapest.
The cheapest clinics come close to research-use prices. One clinic charges $5.33 per mg for BPC-157 and $1.60 for TB-500. Both are below the research-use median. They were the only prescription prices at or below it.
So the gap depends on where a patient buys. The median is a guide, not a rule.
How we counted
Clinics are shown as letters. The same letters are used in the CSV. Bigger vials usually cost less per mg, so we used each clinic's lowest price per mg.
With fees, a first BPC-157 order costs $134 to $505
The 5 clinics with a BPC-157 injection price whose consult fee we know. Each bar is the cost of a first order of that clinic's vial, with the consult and shipping where stated.
Some clinics add a fee for the consult or medical review. The highest is $350, on top of the vial. Others include the consult in a monthly price, or offer it free.
With fees, the median first order works out at $17.00 per mg of BPC-157. That is 3.1× the research-use median.
Research-use sellers also charge shipping, which we did not add. Their prices need no consult.
How we counted
Fees are as the clinic's site states them on 1 November 2026. Where a site does not state shipping, we added nothing. 1 clinic with a BPC-157 injection price does not state a peptide consult fee, so it is not in this chart.
Paying more does not mean the product is one the policy allows
174 US prescription peptide sellers, from our report on the HHS policy. One square is one seller.
A prescription does not mean the product is covered. In our report on the HHS policy, 82 of 174 clinics (47%) sold at least one product the policy does not allow: a blend, or a route it does not list.
In this price check, 2 clinics sell KPV in an injection vial. The policy allows KPV only as a cream or a pill.
And 0 of 174 clinics say who makes the raw peptide. So the higher price does not tell a patient where the raw peptide comes from.
HHS 503A peptide policy, Appendix B, KPV“… enforcement discretion for KPV acetate is appropriate for topical and oral dosage forms that are compounded from API accompanied by a CoA meeting the conditions of this policy.”
How we counted
The 82 of 174 figure and its method are in that report.
All six peptides
| Peptide | Prescription, injection | Prescription, capsules | Research-use median | Cheapest research-use | Multiple | Sellers we rate higher |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BPC-157 | $16.25 (6) | $7.48 (4) | $5.55 | $1.40 | 2.9× | 3.2× |
| TB-500 | $17.93 (5) | – | $6.84 | $3.00 | 2.6× | 2.9× |
| Epitalon | $7.00 (4) | – | $3.30 | $0.84 | 2.1× | 2.6× |
| MOTS-c | $17.00 (5) | – | $4.00 | $1.13 | 4.3× | 5.1× |
| Semax | – | – | $4.20 | $1.17 | – | – |
| KPV | – | $7.20 (4) | $5.00 | $1.50 | – | – |
In brackets: the number of clinics. A dash means fewer than three clinics publish a price per mg. The multiple is the prescription injection median divided by the research-use median. The last column divides by the median of sellers that score at least 25 of 60 with us and publish a certificate for that peptide instead. Semax is allowed only as a nasal spray and KPV only as a cream or pill, so neither has an injection figure.
How we did it
- Prescription prices
- The 174 clinics, telehealth services and doctors from our HHS policy report. We kept a price only when it is for a stated mg amount of one peptide. We left out monthly plans with no mg amount, packages, blends and unclear amounts. We opened every price again on the clinic's live page on 1 November 2026 and dropped any we could not confirm. That left 31 prices from 7 clinics.
- Routes
- Injection prices and capsule prices are kept apart. The four-peptide comparison uses injection only, the route Appendix B allows for all four.
- Research-use prices
- The median of the Peptide Scanner US price index on 1 November 2026, with every US seller in it: 1,081 listings from 191 sellers across the six peptides. Single-peptide vials of at least 1 mg, in stock, priced in dollars. Blends, kits and packs are left out, as in the published index. We did not filter by score or by lab certificate. Listing prices were last checked between 19 October 2026 and 1 November 2026.
- Sellers we rate higher
- A second check uses only sellers that score at least 25 of 60 with us and publish a certificate for that peptide: 140 listings from 38 sellers. A score and a certificate show what a seller publishes. They do not prove what is in a vial.
- Cheapest
- The lowest price per mg we could see on a seller's public page on 1 November 2026, from any seller in the index. We skipped prices behind a login or age check and product pages that no longer load. For TB-500 we skipped products whose page describes the full thymosin beta-4 protein. For Semax we skipped N-acetyl Semax. Some prices were sale prices on the day.
- Monthly plans
- A separate check for BPC-157 compares a one-month prescription plan with the research-use cost of the same month. Clinics rarely state the mg in a plan, so we used the monthly amounts clinics publish: 5 to 15 mg. Each plan is listed by letter in the CSV.
- Fees
- Consult, review and shipping fees are counted apart from the product price. The first-order figure adds them where the clinic states them.
Limits
- Few prices.
- Only 7 of 174 clinics publish a price per mg. The medians rest on 6 clinics or fewer per peptide.
- Monthly amounts vary.
- A clinic sets each patient's dose. The 5 to 15 mg range is what clinics publish, not what every patient gets. Some monthly prices are “starting at” prices.
- TB-500 is a loose name.
- The policy covers TB-500, a short fragment of thymosin beta-4. Many products sold as TB-500, on both sides, describe the full protein instead. Our medians include them. For the cheapest research-use price, we skipped products whose page says they are the full protein. Treat the TB-500 figures as less certain than the others.
- No quality filter.
- The research-use median counts every US seller in the index, whatever its score. A low price says nothing about what is in the vial.
- Listed prices only.
- We compared prices as listed. We did not buy anything or test what is in the vial.
- A snapshot.
- Prices change. Prescription prices and the research-use index are for 1 November 2026. The October index is as of 8 October 2026.
Related pages
Download the data
- us-prescription-peptide-prices-2026.csvColumns: table, peptide, clinic, form, route, mg, price, price per mg, basis, date checked, note.
Cite this report
Peptide Scanner, “Prescription peptides cost about 3 times the research-use price”, November 2026, peptidescanner.co/reports/us-prescription-peptide-prices-2026/. See also 82 of 174 US peptide clinics sell products the new HHS policy does not allow.
Press and corrections
Journalists can ask for the clinic-level sources or the method in full. If a price is wrong or has changed, tell us and we will check it. Email media@peptidescanner.co.
Peptide Scanner tracks peptide sellers and pays independent labs to test their products. It does not sell peptides. See also our disclaimer.